# Congressional Supporters from 2022 That Question or Support Revising the Federal Trade Commission's Proposed "Vehicle Shopping Rule"

March 20, 2023

72 Total Current Members (58R, 14D)

#### Alaska

1. Sen. Dan Sullivan  $(R)^2$ 

## Arkansas

2. Rep. Bruce Westerman (R)<sup>3</sup>

# California

- 3. Rep. Jim Costa (D)<sup>1</sup>
- 4. Rep. Darrell Issa (R)<sup>1</sup>
- 5. Rep. Doug LaMalfa (R)<sup>3</sup>- Lead
- 6. Rep. Adam Schiff (D)<sup>1</sup>
- 7. Rep. David Valadao (R)<sup>3</sup>

## Colorado

- 8. Rep. Ken Buck  $(R)^1$
- 9. Rep. Doug Lamborn  $(R)^3$

## Delaware

10. Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester (D)<sup>3</sup>

#### Florida

- 11. Rep. Neal Dunn (R)<sup>1</sup>
- 12. Rep. Brian Mast (R)<sup>3</sup>
- 13. Rep. Bill Posey (R)<sup>1</sup>
- 14. Rep. Michael Waltz (R)<sup>1,3</sup>
- 15. Rep. Daniel Webster (R)<sup>1</sup>

## Georgia

- 16. Rep. Sanford Bishop (D)<sup>1</sup>
- 17. Rep. Barry Loudermilk (R)<sup>3</sup>
- 18. Rep. David Scott (D)<sup>1, 4</sup> Lead

#### Idaho

- 19. Sen. Mike Crapo (R)1
- 20. Sen. Jim Risch (R)<sup>1</sup>
- 21. Rep. Russ Fulcher (R)<sup>1,3</sup>

## Illinois

- 22. Rep. Chuy Garcia (D)<sup>3</sup>
- 23. Rep. Darin LaHood (R)<sup>1</sup>
- 24. Rep. Mary Miller (R)<sup>3</sup>

## <u>Indiana</u>

25. Sen. Todd Young  $(R)^2$ 

#### Iowa

- 26. Rep. Randy Feenstra (R)<sup>1</sup>
- 27. Rep. Ashley Hinson (R)<sup>1</sup>
- 28. Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks (R)<sup>1, 3</sup>

## Kansas

- 29. Sen. Jerry Moran (R)<sup>1</sup>
- 30. Rep. Jake LaTurner (R)<sup>1</sup>
- 31. Rep. Tracey Mann (R)<sup>1</sup>

## Kentucky

- 32. Rep. Andy Barr (R)<sup>1</sup>
- 33. Rep. James Comer (R)<sup>1</sup>

#### Louisiana

34. Rep. Clay Higgins (R)<sup>1</sup>

#### Maine

35. Rep. Jared Golden (D)<sup>1,3</sup>

## Maryland

36. Rep. Andy Harris (R)<sup>1</sup>

#### Mississippi

37. Rep. Michael Guest (R)<sup>3</sup>

## Missouri

- 38. Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (R)<sup>4</sup>- Lead
- 39. Rep. Ann Wagner (R)<sup>1</sup>

#### Nebraska

- 40. Rep. Mike Flood (R)<sup>1</sup>
- 41. Rep. Adrian Smith (R)<sup>1</sup>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Signed Rep. Armstrong's Letter <u>Link</u>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Signed Sen. Lummis's Letter Link

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Signed Reps. Pappas and LaMalfa's Letter Link

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Signed Reps. Luetkemeyer and Scott's Letter Link

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> Signed Rep. Thompson's Letter <u>Link</u>

<sup>\*</sup>Former member of Congress

# Nevada

- 42. Rep. Mark Amodei (R)<sup>3</sup>
- 43. Rep. Dina Titus (D)<sup>1,3</sup>

## New Hampshire

- 44. Rep. Annie Kuster (D)<sup>1, 3</sup>
- 45. Rep. Chris Pappas (D)<sup>1, 3</sup> Lead

## New Jersey

46. Rep. Josh Gottheimer (D)<sup>3</sup>

## New York

- 47. Rep. Brian Higgins (D)<sup>3</sup>
- 48. Rep. Elise Stefanik (R)<sup>1</sup>
- 49. Rep. Thomas Suozzi (D)<sup>3</sup> \*

## North Carolina

- 50. Sen. Thom Tillis (R)<sup>1</sup>
- 51. Rep. Virginia Foxx (R)<sup>1</sup>
- 52. Rep. Gregory Murphy (R)<sup>1</sup>

## North Dakota

- 53. Sen. Kevin Cramer (R)<sup>1</sup>
- 54. Sen. John Hoeven (R)<sup>1</sup>
- 55. Rep. Kelly Armstrong (R)<sup>1</sup> (Lead)

#### Oregon

56. Rep. Cliff Bentz (R)<sup>3</sup>

## Pennsylvania

- 57. Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (R)<sup>1,3</sup>
- 58. Rep. Mike Kelly (R)<sup>1</sup>
- 59. Rep. Glenn Thompson (R)<sup>5</sup>

#### South Dakota

- 60. Sen. John Thune  $(R)^2$
- 61. Rep. Dusty Johnson (R)<sup>1, 3</sup>

## Tennessee

62. Rep. Scott DesJarlais (R)<sup>1</sup>

## **Texas**

- 63. Rep. Lance Gooden (R)<sup>3</sup>
- 64. Rep. Pete Sessions (R)<sup>1</sup>
- 65. Rep. Roger Williams (R)<sup>1</sup>

## **Utah**

66. Sen. Mike Lee  $(R)^2$ 

## Virginia

- 67. Rep. Ben Cline (R)<sup>1, 3</sup>
- 68. Rep. Gerry Connolly (D)<sup>3</sup>
- 69. Rep. Morgan Griffith (R)<sup>1</sup>

## Washington

70. Rep. Suzan DelBene (D)<sup>3</sup>

## West Virginia

71. Sen. Shelley Moore Capito (R)<sup>2</sup>

## Wisconsin

72. Rep. Scott Fitzgerald (R)<sup>1</sup>

## Wyoming

73. Sen. Cynthia Lummis  $(R)^2$  – Lead

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Signed Rep. Armstrong's Letter <u>Link</u>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Signed Sen. Lummis's Letter Link

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Signed Reps. Pappas and LaMalfa's Letter Link

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Signed Reps. Luetkemeyer and Scott's Letter Link

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> Signed Rep. Thompson's Letter <u>Link</u>

<sup>\*</sup>Former member of Congress

There is bipartisan, bicameral concern over the substance of this rule, its impact on consumers, and the FTC's rush to judgment. Four congressional letters have been sent to the FTC and one to the Federal Reserve Board on this rule:

- 1. Rep. Kelly Armstrong (R-N.D.) bipartisan <u>letter</u> signed by 40 House members and six Senators urging the FTC to withdraw the proposed rule and issue an ANPRM.
- 2. Rep. Chris Pappas (D-N.H.)-Rep. Doug LaMalfa (R-Calif.) <u>letter</u> signed by 29 House members urging the FTC to reopen the comment period.
- 3. Sen. Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.) <u>letter</u> signed by six Republican Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee members questioning all aspects of the proposed rule.
- 4. Rep. Glenn Thompson (R-Pa.) <u>letter</u> opposing the proposed rule, calling it "grossly misguided."
- 5. Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-Mo.)-Rep. David Scott (D-Ga.) <u>letter</u> to the Federal Reserve Board pointing out that the proposed rule conflicts with the Truth in Lending Act, which is under the jurisdiction of the Federal Reserve Board.

In total, 72 current members of Congress on both sides of the aisle signed letters last year regarding this rule. Yet the FTC has not substantively responded to questions posed by Congress and has deprived Members and the public essential information of its impact on the auto industry and consumers.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Signed Rep. Armstrong's Letter <u>Link</u>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Signed Sen. Lummis's Letter Link

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Signed Reps. Pappas and LaMalfa's Letter Link

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Signed Reps. Luetkemeyer and Scott's Letter Link

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> Signed Rep. Thompson's Letter <u>Link</u>

<sup>\*</sup>Former member of Congress